National Merit® Scholarship

The National Merit® Scholarship is an annual, academic competition among high school students for recognition and college scholarships. The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance. Achieving an exceptional score on the PSAT is the first step in the process of earning a National Merit Scholarship.

Since its founding in 1955, the NMSC has recognized over 3 million students and provided more than 396,000 scholarships worth over $1.5 billion. The honors awarded by NMSC to exceptionally able students are viewed as definitive marks of excellence. Recipients of Merit Scholarship® awards, Achievement Scholarship® awards, and corporate-sponsored Special Scholarships have increased the nation’s respect for intellectual accomplishments and have contributed significantly to its talent pool of future leaders.  (

  • 2021 CCS National Merit® Semifinalists: Casey Anderson and Hannah Marcum
  • 2019 CCS National Merit® Semifinalists: Luke Schlake and Nathan Smearsoll
  • 2015 CCS National Merit® Semifinalists: Laura Silvashy and Isaac Smearsoll